...because open source matters

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


E-mail Print PDF

About Birgu

Birgu is a town situated on a peninsula in Malta’s natural harbour and throughout the Maltese history; Birgu can easily claim to have been the island’s former maritime capital. Birgu is in the southern part of Malta forming part of a small region called Cottonera, also known as the Three Cities. Of the Three Cities, Birgu is the oldest one and takes primacy over the other cities as it stands on one of the first inhabited sites in the Grand Harbour.

Birgu played a key role in Maltese history, and its importance peaked during the Order’s period. It achieved resounding fame during the Great Siege, which marked the Order’s first significant land victory in its five hundred years of existence. It was on this occasion that Birgu earned its name Vittoriosa.

The Birgu Local Council is doing his utmost to acquire experience in EU funded projects. Infact in the year 2004, the Council joined in the International Association AVEC – “Alliance De Villes Europeannes Culturale”. This association is made of 40 cities and villages from around 12 European Countries and the Mayor, Mr. John Boxall is also the Association’s Vice-President. Through this association the Birgu Local Council was invited to participate in the Qualicities project, under the call Interreg IIIC, where the Council not only benefited financially but also the Birgu Local Council was certified as a City of Quality. The Birgu Local Council is also an active member of “The Walled Towns Friendship Circle”, an association which includes most of the towns and cities in Europe, with surviving walls and which encouraged friendship between the inhabitants of all ages in Walled Towns communities and promotes tourism through the member cities.


Last Updated ( Monday, 05 March 2012 08:47 )  



The MEDEEA project was presented at the IEE National Info Day in Malta, on the 2nd of March, at Valletta. The event targeted representatives from the public sector, national authorities, private companies, NGOs, local councils, business associations and consultancies interested in the energy sector.